Vast Album Release


An album of Australian musicians including Bernard Fanning, Sally Seltmann, Paul Dempsey, Glenn Richards, Oh Mercy, Alan Pigram, Jae Laffer, Kav Temperley and more

Released November 16 2018

Kicking off with lead single, Paul Dempsey’s ‘The Sky’s Gone Missing’

Download / stream HERE


‘I felt like I was on another planet’ – Bernard Fanning

In a ghost town, 1500 kilometres from Perth, some of Australia’s finest songwriters came together to collaborate, writing and recording songs that emerged from a unique collective experience in an ancient and wondrous landscape.  

Bernard Fanning, Sally Seltmann, Paul Dempsey, Glenn Richards (Augie March), Oh Mercy,  Alan Pigram (Pigram Brothers), Jae Laffer (the Panics), Kav Temperley (Eskimo Joe) comedian Paul McDermott and many other notable musicians camped with visual artists and a musical instrument maker for a week in the historic deserted settlement of Cossack (BAJINHURRBA), in the Pilbara region of Western Australia. The songs that emerged document their response to the awe inspiring landscape, a celebration of the land and the people of the coastal desert region.

Days and nights were spent in and around this makeshift creative village; in every building, on every corner and out in the surrounding land people were working, creating music and art – the sound of guitars and voices singing brought this ghost town to life as friends were made and creative collaborations forged.

Musicians serenaded painters at work.  Scott Wise crafted an electric dulcimer out of a piece of wood he’d found. Bernard Fanning and Alex Gow wrote a song together after meeting for the first time that morning.  Kav Temperley completed vocal takes in the desert as sculptors worked in silence on the salt flats nearby. Sally Seltmann wrote a song for the river while sitting by it.

“The Pilbara is an explosive amazing place. You feel it in your feet – especially when you’re an artist, you see something that sparks a thought. It brings energy into yourself, makes you produce something that’s incredible – That’s the feeling of the Pilbara, the feeling of being on really sacred country and really sacred land, that’s the old people’s dreaming. I’m proud and happy to be part of this. To be on a journey with people and be in those peoples journey as well as a traditional owner while I’m standing here. This is something special – very special”. Josie Alec 
VAST Tracklist
Paul Dempsey – The Sky’s Gone Missing
Alexander Gow – Have A Little Faith

Bernard Fanning – Everything
Glenn Richards – Cossack Tide
Sally Seltmann – River River
Kav Temperley – Sugarstone
Bernard Fanning – Ashes & Dust
Tyson Mowarin – Best I Can
Rowena Wise – Overgrow
Jae Laffer – Ruins Of A Nameless Man
The Healys – Tradition
Nick Sheppard – You Get What You Give
Paul McDermott – Let Go
Aimee Chapman – Swallows
Adam Harvey – Red Dirt Town
Ryan Brennan – Fifo Waltz
Ian Campbell – Ghost Town
Josie Alec – Vast Thoughts

A stunning full length documentary captured the recording process. View HERE

Download /stream ‘The Sky’s Gone Missing’ single HERE

All proceeds generated by the Vast album sales will be used for the sole purpose of promoting, encouraging and advancing artistic pursuits in the Pilbara region. The fund will be available for any Pilbara resident, the award of a grant dependent on the review and recommendation of the Vast Project Trust panel. For more please visit: